Thank you for joining us on our journey of discovery. There will be opportunities for us to gather at events and get to know each other—but for now, we’ll go first!

What is the Port of Kalama?

The Port of Kalama is a local government agency considered a Special Purpose District in the State of Washington, which has the largest system of public ports in the world. In Washington, Special Purpose Districts are limited purpose local governments separate from a city, town, or county government. The Port was organized by a vote of the people of Kalama, Washington in 1920. The elected Port of Kalama Board of Commissioners meets twice a month to discuss Port business and set policy based on a legal community directive called a Comprehensive Planning Process. The Port welcomes the public to Commission meetings which are held in the Port of Kalama Administrative Office Building, 110 West Marine Drive, Kalama, Washington 98625.

What is the Port’s mission?

The Port of Kalama’s mission is ‘to induce capital investment in an environmentally responsible manner to create jobs and to enhance public recreational opportunities.’  The Commission ensures a sound economic development strategy for the Port to create a balanced and diverse industry base, provide living wage jobs and a range of community recreational amenities. The Kalama River Industrial Park—now  home to many business tenants—and recent construction of Haydu Park and maintenance of the Kalama marina and riverfront parks are examples of the commission’s stewardship.

At the core of our mission is a promise to carefully evaluate community investments all while protecting and enhancing our natural resources. That careful balance is in the DNA of every single project the Port embarks upon.

What are Port of Kalama boundaries?

The Port of Kalama lies between the Port of Woodland to the south and the Port of Longview to the north within Cowlitz County. Some of the Port lies within the City of Kalama and some is within the jurisdiction of Cowlitz County. The Port of Kalama has five distinct areas, including:

Next up:

Discover! Port of Kalama Commissioners—roles, responsibilities, districts


River Cam

Sponsored by McMenamins Kalama Harbor Lodge and Port of Kalama
Kalama, WA
Add Your Tooltip Text Here